Risking

27/07/2021 13:08

Report on the artefacts recovered from the ancient database found in the ruins of the Grand Palace of Sinzyana, the capital of the Sinzyraal people

Doctor Ylvia Haardyl

RECORDING 7,561/10,028

A partial, audio-only, recording.  Through a combination of encryption and subsequent corruption of the file, we do not know who recorded it, or who the intended recipient was, but there is a hint of an inequality between the two that suggests the relationship was illicit, possibly treasonous.  The Sinzyraal, unusually for ancient societies on Drundia, were patriarchal and the leader, or ‘king’, is known to have kept a harem made up of women he married for largely political reasons.  We speculate that this recording is part of a correspondence between one of these women and a servant or guard, a highly risky endeavour for both.  The recording ends abruptly, apparently at the very moment that the sacking of Sinzyana began, or at least reached the palace.  It is a fascinating glimpse into a moment at once both historically significant and deeply personal.

--------------------------------------------

“Beloved!

“Oh, how I love the sound of that word in my mouth, when it applies to you.  Beloved!  Beloved!  BELOVED!!!

“I know, I know.  I have to be quiet.  But it’s so hard to be quiet when my heart is singing your name so loudly it deafens all my thoughts.  It’s like an andizor roaring in my chest!

“Please forgive the indulgence of sending this message but I had to take the risk.  I couldn’t leave things as they were when you flew so suddenly from my arms earlier tonight.  Every moment we spend together is a risk, every glance.  Even thinking about you is a risk because it distracts me constantly from what I should be doing.  So, will you forgive this further impudence?  One more tiny risk amidst the avalanche of fears and terrors we represent to each other.

“I did consider a written message, but who might read it over your shoulder?  Or find it on my screen?

“My thoughts are so scattered.  I'll try to bring them into some kind of order.  But every thought that comes near to thoughts of you is broken, dissipated, lost before it is fully formed.  So, you can see what becomes of my actual thoughts of you!

“Beloved...

“Let me whisper it, so when you hear it, it’s as if I was breathing it in your ear.  I know how you will react, pupils dilating, hands trembling.  You will bite your lip, close your eyes, feel the shiver run down your spine...

Beloved...

“Whatever happens, know that I will always love you.  I won’t send another message, I promise, and I don’t ask you to reply to this.  All I ask is that you hear me out.

“You called my plan madness but what could be madder than what we are already doing?!  I have a little money laid by and I can lay my hands on some small jewels, nothing gaudy enough to attract attention but attractive enough to the right buyer.  And the cash means there will be no need to sell them until we are far away from this accursed place.  There is no need for you to take any risks in trying to secure funds; I have enough for us both.

“Then we will find some quiet corner of the world where we can love each other undisturbed.  I will spend the days gazing into the endless depths of your eyes and the nights stroking your silken hair.  We will have each other and what else do we need?

“Our own little home where nobody knows us, nobody will judge or condemn us.  We can be whoever we choose to be in such a place.

“I will be by the water gate two nights from now.  Meet me and...

“Forgive me beloved, but there seems to be a disturbance down the hall.  I can hear shouting and running.  What’s happening?

“I’ve just looked out of the window; the city is ablaze!  I pray that you are safe.

“I will have to finish this later.  For now, I can only place us both in the hands of...”

--------------------------------------------

This is all we could recover.

 

Comments

No comments found.

New comment