15 Praying

11/02/2020 06:37

All Mother, Holy Lady,

Dreamer of the sacred dreams,
You burn brighter than the sun,
You are darker than the night without stars.
You gave birth to my body and know every part of me,
And you will devour my soul when my dream ends.

 

Sleeping through the night time of eternity,
You dreamed the world from nothingness
Making order from chaos;
And when you awaken
And morning returns
The world will be scattered like the tatters of forgotten dreams.

 
I pray for the Queen as her time draws near,
That you will grant her safe delivery of a healthy daughter
To silence the wicked tongues that speak against her,
Weaving their lies and their plots
Waiting for their moment to strike, like the lioness stalking her prey!
I beg that you hear your poor servant
And forbid that day to ever come!
For she is your living image, full of the beauty and grace that only you possess.
Do they not know that to speak evil of her is to speak evil of you?
To throw doubt upon her reign, to question her fitness to rule,
All these things are words against the Dreamer,
To whom we owe life and breath?

 

Oh, that I did not have to listen to their grumbling and complaining!
Oh, that you would sweep them all away like the dust that they are!
But I know that all things are safe in your hands,
That you see all, know all, dream all;
You will not suffer their insults and wickedness to continue
But will prove their words to be lies!
When the Queen delivers a daughter,
As wise and beautiful as she,
As wise and beautiful as you,
The true heir to the throne and the land,
Then their words will be seen for the poison that they are!
Then they will slink away to their holes,
Like snakes that hide from the heat of the sun before it burns them away to ashes!

 
All Mother, Holy Lady,
Dreamer of the sacred dreams,
Hear my words and take heed,
I beg of you.

 

I pray for the Council, lost in politics and intrigues,
Do they not see that you order all things?
That the only true way to lead the people is to let you lead them?
Their thoughts are always for themselves, for their own gain.
They lead the people like a wicked shepherd would lead his sheep,
Looking only to fatten them for slaughter,
Keeping them penned in with rules and orders
Rather than trust them to roam free.

 
For the good shepherd leads his sheep with love
Knowing that the sheep heed his voice and will follow him to the best pastures.
He has no need to keep his flocks penned in, except to keep them safe from wolves!
He takes them to where the best grass and water are to be found during the day,
He protects them from the wolf at night.
Oh, that the Council members would remember their duty more than their honour!
Oh, that they would see the people as sheep to be protected
Rather than as resources to be exploited!

 

Oh, that the Queen could halt them in their downward spiral that will lead the whole land to destruction!
But she is young and her time is near,
And so I appeal to you, Lady, Mother,
Begging for your aid.

 
All Mother, Holy Lady,
Dreamer of the sacred dreams,
Hear my words and take heed,
I beg of you.

 

I pray for myself, old and feeble as I am,
Waiting only for the day when my dream will end
And releases me from the woes of this world.
For the years grow heavy on my shoulders
My days are a burden that I must struggle to carry.
But I will serve you,
And I will serve the Queen,
Until the last breath leaves my mortal frame,
And my soul is free!
At last! At last!
My soul will be free
To fly, swift as the bird to her nest,
To your final embrace.

 
All Mother, Holy Lady,
Dreamer of the sacred dreams,
Hear my words and take heed,
I beg of you.

 

Comments

No comments found.

New comment